EDC (Everyday Carry)

img_6219

It occurred to me that, having written about the content of my two bags, I really ought to finish off my list of possessions with my EDC so here it is. A nice short post because there’s only six items.

Ray Ban Black Aviators 31g
I used to follow the advice of Eddie Spaghetti who recommended not spending more than $10 on a pair of sunnies – then I discovered the quality and clarity of Ray Ban and I am utterly sold. They fold almost completely flat, they weigh less than cheaper brands but the quality is evident in the build and fit. They’re polarised and having worn them a lot in the last six months they haven’t scratched either. LINK

Ultimate Ears 600VI Headphones 18g
Everyone has their favourite brand of buds, I used to swear by Sennheiser having shunned Bose and Skullcandy, but then I discovered Ultimate Ears. The brand are owned by Logitech (not known for their audio) but damn these things sound immense. Deep bass with superb mid range. The passive noise cancelling is down to the fit of the foam buds and I stick to Comply Foam TX500 Isolation plus Wax Guard which fit my ears perfectly. LINK

Slimfold Micro Soft Shell RFID Wallet 18g (46g full)
This is actually my third Slimfold wallet and I absolutely love it. It weighs next to nothing and has an almost zero profile when empty a but is tough as nails, waterproof, and perfectly designed to hold all I need. I can fit whatever cash (notes) I have and up to 8 cards (including two in the back sleeves behind the RFID protection (so best not to use this for credit cards!). I hasten to add I have upgraded through choice each time (from Tyvek to Soft Shell to RFID Soft Shell). I’ve never had a Slimfold fail me. LINK

img_6223-safe

ICE Unisex Quartz Watch 46g
I have been looking for a simple minimal watch for ages and I spotted a family member wearing this one on a recent trip to the UK. It is beautiful, elegant and simple. The strap is silicone which is very comfortable to wear and easy to clean (the watch is waterproof). All I need a watch to do is tell me the time, my smartphone does all the gimmicky things. It’s easy to read and fits my skinny wrists just fine. LINK

iPhone 6 128GB 129g
Case only pictured as the phone was used to take the picture. My eighth iPhone – safe to say I’m locked in to the cult of Apple when it comes to smartphones. There really isn’t much to say about this device that you likely don’t already know. It’s replaced so many things I would otherwise have to carry separately, and while the battery life is disappointing it’s ultimately a fine piece of kit and carrying all of my photos and music in my pocket still gives me a lot of satisfaction

Keys 17g
Not exactly essayworthy, simply the keys to the AirBnB I currently reside in. Thankfully not too many of them. I’ve certainly had worse.

That’s it. Nice and simple.

One thought on “EDC (Everyday Carry)

  1. Pingback: The Homeless Professional Nomad | BLACKSHINE

Leave a Reply

